A Gauntlet on the Ground

That’s it – the gauntlet has been tossed, the challenge issued. These are the rules of engagement!

The first is that I must blog every day for thirty days. I blatantly ripped this idea off from my sister, so I hope she doesn’t think I’m a dork now! The fact is that her blog is really cool and fun and interesting, and I’ve tried to be JUST LIKE my sister since I was old enough to know that the giant NIN posted on her bedroom wall was a band. So, like a good little sister, I’m ripping off her idea to see if blogging helps me in the way it’s clearly helping her.

It can be about something mind-bogglingly deep or about nothing, but I MUST blog. I need to learn that it’s okay to put myself out there, and that I don’t need to be ashamed of my feelings or of other people finding out who I am.

One big problem with me (and the reason I never kept a blog before, or a diary back in the pre-blog days) is that I destroy everything I write that isn’t fiction. For some reason, I’ll read what I wrote and find it absurd or foolish and be so ashamed of how stupid I was, I’ll destroy it forever. Not this time – the blog not only has to stay intact, but I’m posting links to it on my Facebook.

That is the first part of the challenge – no, the Challenge – and it’s starting today. Thirty days of delicious blog.

The second is the hard part! I know, blogging every day for a month sounds bad enough, right? No? Well, trust me, it’s bad. But the second part of the Challenge requires me to exercise on my Wii Fit for an HOUR every day – and post my results! Nothing holds you accountable like teh ebil ppls of teh interwebz, right? The fact is, I’m not ashamed of my weight and I don’t care what the world thinks – it’s just a situation to be dealt with.

Subsection A of the second part of the Challenge is that I may not eat any meat except for seafood for thirty days! What?! No meat?! I need to eat healthier, and nomming on a chicken leg isn’t helping me. I don’t eat much meat anyway (I’m more of a cheese person), but I might as well cut it out all together. Who knows? Maybe I’ll stick with it and be more aware and stuff.

The reason this is going in the blog is because if I post it on the internet, I HAVE to do it. Now everyone will expect me to follow through, and it will be EMBARASSING if I fail at it. So suck it up, grow some balls, and get working! Don’t lose your motivation and screw up a good thing yet AGAIN. (I’m talking to myself, there.)

Anyway, here are today’s stats:

Foodstuffs:

I went to the store and bought $25 worth of fruit and miso/udon noodles, which isn’t a lot. I was very proud of myself for starting my first vegetarian day, and gaily dug into the fridge for my leftover baked potato soup. By the way, try Archer Farms Baked Potato soup! It’s epicness! Unless, of course, you’re vegetarian, because I realized after eating it all that it has little bits of bacon in it.

I failed on the first day!

I won’t be too hard on myself, and will just be more careful! For those who ARE veggie-huggers, try Archer Farms Cheddar Broccoli soup. I like it better than the potato, and it doesn’t take as long to make.

Exercise: Haven’t done it yet! Expect an update this evening.

About Darcie

I'm a 21 year old nerd girl who's trying to find out what she wants and how to get it! I'm a shy, stressed-out loner struggling with real issues like weight, health, and crossing the deep, dark chasm that divides youth and adulthood. Are you nerd enough to decipher the endless stream of 1's and 0's that make up mah brainzz? As I always say... We'll see! View all posts by Darcie

One response to “A Gauntlet on the Ground

Leave a Reply

